Saturday, May 28, 2011

Is Racism Really a Thing of the Past?

To answer the question that the title of this blog post asks, I say HELL NO! Racism is not a thing of the past, but it is much less of an issue now. The one thing that is keeping racism alive, in my opinion, is ignorance. I say this because I've come across several ignorant people in my 23 years of life. Living in the south, we do move at a much slower pace than say the northeast (New York) or the west coast (California) and because of that, we are much slower to adapt to new ways of thinking. I can't really say that those specific areas are less racist or ignorant, but I can say that I believe that they are more accepting of the changes in race relations.

I got the idea to write this blog post by watching Remember the Titans last night with my roommate, James. James is white, I am black. James is also a very very good friend of mine, one of the best. Now if you live under a rock and haven't seen Remember the Titans, it is a movie about how integration brought an all- black football team and an all-white football team together to play for the same team. I'm not doing a movie review so you can watch it if you want all the details, but there was racism and ignorance on both teams parts. But the white people were just TOO MUCH. Calling the black people all kids of names like monkey and negro, and saying that Gerry Bertier (the white football captain) went to the zoo and made new friends. Now and THAT some ish? Anyway, its that ignorant way of thinking that keeps racism going till this day.

I don't want to seem like a hypocrite and make its seem like I am not guilty of racist/ignorant thinking because I'm not. I am almost always the first person to blame white people for most, if not all of my misfortunes. BUT the difference is I don't actually believe that white people are the root of all evil. But, I have been noticing some disturbing behavior from people that I have known for a while now. More degrading black jokes, using the N-word for no reason (I don't believe white or black people should use this word), more stereotyping all black people to look, act, talk a certain way... more IGNORANCE, basically. Honestly, its not ok to joke about it. Yes, I do laugh it off because trying to talk sense into an ignorant person is like trying to sell shoes to a person with no feet... pointless.

All in all, I can't expect everyone to think the same way, and I have accepted this fact. Some people are just so set in their own ways are resistant to change and that's all good and well... I'll just let that be your downfall. If you think this post is about you, it probably is. I just thought I'd put that in here so you don't come up to me and ask. Also, if you would like to discuss anything in this post with me, please feel free. You all know I am not one to keep my opinion to myself...ever.

I keep it 100,

Jonathan Trevon Lemonjello Holden

Friday, May 20, 2011

Things That Piss Me Off

Hello world! It is time for my second installment in the AMAZING publication I call my blog. I have not been in the best mood the past few days. I just feel soooooo much anger building up inside of me. I don't know why, but I hope that writing will ease the anger. Some of you may think that I am the stereotypical "Angry Black Man" and yall couldnt be more wrong. I more than likely just think what you have to say is ignorant and I tell you. But here are some things that piss me off... get ready.

1. People asking me several questions in a short period of time.
    My mama is a EXPERT at pissing me off this way. When I wake up, I dont want to be bombarded with a series of questions... especially stupid ones. When your teachers in school told you that there were no stupid questions THEY STRAIGHT UP LIED TO YOU! There are stupid questions and if you ask me a stupid question, don't expect a response. Also, if i am watching a tv show, dont ask me questions about what is going on when im watching the show. I understand of you dont watch that specific tv show but I cant watch and explain to you what is going on at the same time because then I would miss what is going on... wait until a commercial

2. Looking at me after you make a racist joke/comment for a reaction.
    I will admit, most of my friends are white... and I secretly believe that some of them are undercover racists. There really is no need for racism in this world, it is 2011, but some people are dead set in their ways. But it seems like my friends turn EVERYTHING into a racial issue. But don't say a black stereotype and then purposely look at me (while laughing) for a reaction. I really cant tell you how much that pisses me off. I am not ghetto and I dont fit the STEREOTYPE that you white people have of black people. Yes, there are educated black people, not all black people live in the ghetto, we all dont speak ebonics, and not every black person likes fried chicken and kool aid. So please leave your pre Civil Rights Movement thinking and use your brain before you make an ass out of yourself.

3. Dont interrupt/ talk over me while I am talking.
   This is just a general rule for everyone. If someone has the decency to let you say what you have to say, then dont interrupt them when they are speaking. You can make your point after the person is finished talking.

4. People who act differently around different people.
    One thing about me is that I Am Me (I feel like this is somebody's album title). I am the same person no matter who I am around. I cant stand people who act FAKE when they are around people they dont normally hang out with. Oh, you are with a new group of people so you think you are better than everyone else now and you adopt their stank attitude. That's fine and dandy, but dont come around me with that bullish because I will call you out with the quickness and not think twice.

5. Say please and thank you
    I thought this was a rule that everyone knew... I mean, Barney has a song about it, but I guess some people dont think it applies to them. You can ask me to do you a favor, but you WILL ASK, you WILL NOT TELL me to do a damn thing. If you know me, you know I dont take shit from anyone. I dont care if you are a tenured teacher, a lazy ass GTA, or the president of an organization you will say please and thank you when addressing me. Call me crazy, but I just assumed it was the right thing to do when asking a favor of anyone, whether big or small.

These are just some of thing things that piss me off. Im sure that some of the things I talked about probably piss you off too. If you got this far, then I thank you for reading all of this. Most of my posts will probably be long because I more than likely wont post a blog everyday.

Peace and blessings, peace and blessings,
Lemonjello
   

Sunday, May 15, 2011

My First Blog Post

This is taking me back to the days of Xanga. I have no idea what to say or why I am doing this, but whatever.

Technically, I just graduated college. I say technically because the actual commencement ceremony isn't until August 6th because of that damn tornado. Speaking of the tornado...actually, I'm not going to speak on that because everyone knows about it by now. Anyway, I'm in that stage of life where basically I have no idea what I am going to do in the next stage of my life... and its really pissing me off.

I can tell you one thing, I am determined to NOT move back to Madison. I am NOT living with those people (my family) after not having to have to put up with their bullshit for the past 5 years. I'm getting angry at the thought of possibly having to move back. So I'm going to stop talking about that.

You know, I surround myself with some amazing people. I'm jealous of every single one of them. Well, just the ones that actually have post graduate plans. But I don't see it as a negative thing, they are giving me motivation to get on their level. It just kind of sucks see them go off an be successful and then you sit there and wonder, why you suck at life.

I hope this isn't supposed to be about one topic because that's not the way I operate.

Back to that fucking tornado...What was the fucking point of it? To ruin everyones' lives? I see no point in a natural disaster... TORNADOES SERVE NO PURPOSE IN LIFE! Whoever created them needs to be shot because that's some bullshit. Not only did several people lose their lives, some lost their homes and all of their possessions, jobs, businesses, livelyhoods, etc. WHAT THE FUCK?

No offense to you, but I probably don't trust you. I can physically count on one hand the amount of people that I trust. Is that bad? No, I don't think so. *Side Note* The people who live below me are the kind of people who give the black population a bad name. They are loud, ghetto, play loud ass music when people are trying to sleep, smoke weed, sit on the stairs like its their front porch, talk loud, and they little yappy ass dog barks all the time. I live in a gated community, WE HIGH CLASS 'ROUND HERE! Get with it or GET OUT!* Ok, back to me, I just have extreme trust issues. People are shady and its always the people that you trust that will stab you in the back first...so I just keep my wall up.

When people get all emotional and sappy, I get uncomfortable. First of all, I don't know what to say to people when they are in that emotional state. Second of all, I probably can't relate to what you are going through. Lastly, I'm never one to share deep emotions with anyone so I don't really know how to react when someone else does it. I just shut down completely. Because of that, many of you don't know much about me. You know what I allow you to know. Maybe by reading my blog you will learn something new about me.

I think I'm ADD because this post is random as hell... but I haven't blogged in a long time. Hopefully, I will get better at this.